call us312-335-9470

200 West Adams, Suite 2475, Chicago, IL 60606

Testimonials

What Our Clients Say About Us

I just graduated nursing school and finally took the NCLEX (Passed) and I was excited to finally start my career, but then I received a letter stating that I had a Deficiency Checklist for things from 18 years ago. I had no idea what this was about or what to do. I found Fred and he helped me tremendously, he explained everything and why this was being asked from me. Fred was very polite, professional and sure to reassure me. He kept me well informed with what was going on and was ALWAYS quick to reply to my questions. I am very glad I found Fred, he helped me get my license quickly and now I’m able to finally do what I worked so hard for.

Nurse Applicant, Illinois

November, 2020

I have had the pleasure in working with this firm and I can honestly say I am blown away on the level of response, professionalism and knowledge they have. Fred has provided the level of personal experience that you cannot find easily in other firms. He listens, understands, and will guide by providing realistic expectations. Highly recommended in the licensure process and dealing with the complications of state rules and regulations.

Real Estate Broker, Chicago

September, 2020

I am the Chairperson for the Chicago Bar Association Criminal Law Committee. We invite the leading experts in various fields as speakers for our meetings. Attorney Fred Nickl was our recent expert speaker on FOID and CCL appeals. He was knowledgeable, insightful, and informative. Fred became the “go to guy” for our members when they need the advice of an expert that practices in the field of administrative hearings and appeals. I highly recommend Fred if you are seeking an intelligent and well informed lawyer.

Steven R. Decker

August, 2020

Fred Nickl and Edward Williams are hands down the best attorneys around for licensing issues. Before finding these two professionals, I spoke with another local attorney and while he seemed competent he did not instill the confidence that Fred and Edward were able to. They spent ample time learning of my concerns and formulating a comprehensive strategy. I am happy to say that their thoughtful approach, hard work, and dedication to my case paid off as I received my license to practice in a very timely manner. I would highly recommend these lawyers for any of your licensing concerns and I cannot thank them enough for what they have done for me and my family.

APN applicant, Illinois

August, 2020

I had just landed my dream job, and only a few weeks before the start date I received an IDFPR deficiency notice. I was devastated. I thought that there was no way I would receive my license in time, but with Fred's help I was able to receive my license in less than a week! He was also responsive and responded to my concerns allowing me to feel at ease knowing that the matter was being handled in the best way possible. I highly recommend Williams & Nickl to anyone with a similar problem.

RN applicant, Illinois

August, 2020

I had issues getting my Illinois Veterinary license, but was hesitant to hire a lawyer because I never needed one in the past. However, I was getting nowhere on my own. I searched online and emailed Williams & Nickl. I got an immediate reply and they said they could help me. Their fees are very fair and I would not have my license today if it wasn’t for them. They talked me through everything that was happening and responded to my emails and calls very quickly. I can’t say enough good things about Fred and Edward and would highly recommend them to anyone. I’m so thankful they are here to help! .

Veterinarian, Illinois

July, 2020

Thank you Mr. Williams and Mr. Nickl so much for your hard work and dedication in guiding me through the process in receiving my BSN. I thought all was lost when I had my two incidents with the law. Your valuable expertise was instrumental in making it through college! Again thank you for being so responsive and helpful.

Illinois RN applicant

July, 2020

I cannot say enough how much I appreciate Mr. Fred Nickl and his office staff helping with my Illinois Medical License issue. Fred is very efficient and a pleasure to work with. He is very hard working and extremely knowledgeable. Fred is very detail oriented, courteous and a pleasure to work with. He is highly professional and will not give any false hope. Fred fights very hard with the government agency and he won’t back down. The price is extremely fair and his interest is in the best outcome for the client. I highly recommend Fred to anyone who is looking for an experienced attorney dealing with Illinois Medical Board.

Dr. Satyanarayana G. Raju

Danville, IL

April, 2020

I had a great experience working with Edward and Fred from the very first day that I called about issues with my Registered Nurse license. From the very beginning they have been supportive, and maintained open and timely communication with me during the whole process. It has definitely put me at ease knowing how much they communicated with IDFPR and they were able to get my license restored in only 2 months! Highly recommended!

RN, Chicago area

April, 2020

Williams & Nickl are the knowledgeable experts you want in your corner when dealing with the IDFPR. Our case was one we were not expecting nor did we know what to do (or where to start). After meeting with Fred and Ed, however, we felt comfortable moving forward with them representing us. They guided us through the process and they were there with us throughout the whole thing.

In the end, our case ended up in our favor and has since been closed – all thanks to the hard work of Williams and Nickl. If needed, we would use them again in the future. We highly recommend them to anyone looking for experts to guide them through the IDFPR process.

Security business company, Chicago IL

April, 2020

Williams & Nickl helped keep my Pharmacist license of 20 years clean! I was a wreck when I received notice of a complaint that had happened 6 years ago in Illinois. After reading Williams & Nickl's qualifications I called and one of the partners themselves actually answered. They were honest, knowledgeable , fair and extremely competent with direct and clear communication every step of the way. Edward Williams was a chief prosecutor who worked for IDFPR and knew the inner workings. Fred Nickl is actually married to a pharmacist! Fred researched my case, reached out to the pharmacy board prosecutor many times and didn't stop working my case until the complaint was dropped! They fought for my license like it was their own. I can't tell you how scared I was that my license might actually be disciplined. When I was hired by my current employer, a clean license was a prerequisite. To me this team of lawyers is a Godsend. Do yourself a favor and call them – you could not be in better hands.

Pharmacist, Northwestern Illinois

March, 2020

I received a nasty surprise when I got an unexpected deficiency checklist from the IDFPR, as I was supposed to start a job and needed my license within three weeks. Not only was Fred responsive to my situation, responding to my initial email on a weekend when he was at a conference, but he greatly helped assuage my anxieties through sorting out the IDFPR demands, issuing a professional response, and guiding me through the process. Throughout the entire endeavor, he helped to make sure IDFPR did all they could to issue my license on time so I could start working on schedule. He was integral to my not losing the great opportunity in my new job, and I cannot overstate how thankful I am for his assistance in this matter.

RN Applicant – Chicago, IL

March, 2020

Edward and Fred were a pleasure to work with. I received a deficiency notice on February 22nd from IDFPR on two old cases. One was from almost 12 years ago and the other from 7 years ago (a court supervision and a dismissed case). I was very worried but both assured me that I would receive my license successfully. After contacting the firm, both Fred and Edward worked diligently and efficiently, as they helped me to receive my license in only 9 days from when we sent the case information to the BON. I can't thank them enough and I would recommend them to anyone who is new to the licensing process or who needs legal assistance in similar matters. Thank you Fred and Edward!

RN Applicant – Illinois

March, 2020

My experience with Williams & Nickl has been nothing short of outstanding. After completing residency training in Illinois I ran into difficulty when applying for my permanent Illinois license. Though I had no complications with my temporary license, the application for permanent licensure was flagged due to an incident that took place 15 years ago. I was involved in an unfair DUI arrest and had to go before the Illinois medical disciplinary board to explain the circumstances.

I began researching law firms to help me as I felt expert guidance was necessary. Williams & Nickl were extremely knowledgeable regarding the process. I spoke with several other firms before retaining Williams & Nickl. The difference was the level of detail that Fred was able to provide with respect to the questions and procedures that I should expect.

I also felt extremely comfortable as Fred prepped me for the interview in-person. He helped me formulate my answers and gave me direction regarding when to answer and when to defer to him. Naturally this was an extremely stressful process as my career was at stake if I was not able to obtain Illinois licensure.

During the Informal Conference with the Board, Fred provided guidance that was very comforting. I truly felt like I had someone on my side. I can tell you from prior experiences with other lawyers that this is NOT common. Once the Conference was complete I achieved my unrestricted Illinois license.

I cannot thank Williams & Nickl enough for their help and support through this stressful process, and strongly encourage any professional needing help to use their services. Their wealth of knowledge regarding the intricate details of the process and their professionalism is unparalleled.

Physician, Illinois

January 2020

I cannot say enough how Fred and Edward helped me out. They were aggressive, timely and really helped me to achieve a positive outcome when all hope was lost. I truly appreciate their dedication and experience. Their practice is a ‘niche' law firm, and they have many contacts within the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation which is part of the key to their success now in and in the future. Without their assistance, advice, and aggressiveness I would not have been able to achieve my goal. I would not hesitate to recommend them to any physician seeking licensure in Illinois especially with adverse events in your background. Amazing lawyers!!!!

Physician applicant, Illinois

December 2019

I am so very pleased with the results that I achieved working with Fred and Ed. I was out of state and needed assistance with the Illinois Medical Board. My local attorney recommended Fred and Ed because of the positive results they had achieved for clients over the years. I had an 1 hour phone consultation with Ed and then meet with Fred the morning of our IDFPR meeting.

Fred prepared my very well in about one hour. He told me what to expect from the individuals on the board and things they would say. His predictions were uncanny in that he predicted their reactions and prepared me with answers to their questions. I felt well prepared coming in from out of state.

Fred studies all the parties involved and gets to know them and their mannerisms well. It was like having top notched intelligence from the field. We were able to get the result that we wanted. During the whole process I was treated professionally and Fred's staff was very responsive to my questions. I felt that all billings were appropriate and reasonable. I have worked with multiple attorneys over the years and I would recommend Fred and Ed without hesitation

Physician, Seattle, WA

September 2019

Fred Nickl is an outstanding attorney! I had a complaint made against my license and I was devastated. I was to the point of just giving up and surrendering my license rather than fighting for it. After consulting with Fred, I felt hopeful and retained him as my attorney. Fred was extremely encouraging and caring throughout this painful process of dealing with the IDFPR. His knowledge and experience are in dealing with licensing issues are extraordinary. He represented me incredibly well and fought relentlessly for the most positive outcome, which he achieved. I am tremendously grateful for Fred's efforts on my behalf and highly recommend anyone with licensing issues to utilize the services of Williams & Nickl, LLC.

K.W., Licensed Professional Counselor

September 2019

The Williams & Nickl law firm is a very good company to hire when needed. Our firm was falsely accused of an infraction that we knew was ridiculous. However, in today's times you are still forced to defend yourself regardless of how outlandish the accusation may be. The law firm of Williams & Nickl was stupendous in their handling of our case.

Alarm Company, Chicago

September 2019

I was already hired as a Registered Nurse in downtown Chicago, and had already begun orientation when I received a “Deficiency Checklist” from IDFPR. I was devastated. I contacted Williams & Nickl on March 14th, and they had my license issued by March 28th!! Fred is extremely knowledgeable and a pleasure working with. I highly recommend Williams & Nickl to anyone facing licensing issues with the IDFPR.

MSN, RN, Chicago

September 2019

Ed and Fred are outstanding and I would recommend them without reservation for your representation before the IDFPR. In my particular case they dug me out of a hole that my prior attorney managed to get me in by claiming that he was experienced in such matters when he was not. My previous attorney spent over a year and soaked my medical malpractice for over $30,000 before acknowledging that he was in over his head. Please learn from my mistake and retain Fred initially. It was clear to me that the Prosecutor for the IDFPR had no respect for my previous attorney which is certainly not the case with Fred and Ed. They spent an incredible amount of time initially, at no charge, figuring out fact from fiction. To say that they are aggressive, professional and understanding would be an understatement. Their billing is extremely ethical and almost a pleasure to look at in the sense that you realize in a real way how much they do and how efficient they are. They work extremely well together, bounce ideas off each other and will never double bill you for such. In essence you get two hard-working very thorough attorneys for the price of one. They will prevail. Again I recommend them without reservation.

Surgeon, Peoria

September 2019

I hired this firm in regards to an IDFPR nursing board license issue. Attorney Fred Nickl was knowledgeable and attentive. He responds quickly and adequately prepares you for hearings. The fee is reasonable for the Chicago area and for IDFPR attorneys. More so, the situation was handled in a timely manner and had a positive outcome. I highly recommend Williams & Nickl, LLC if you find yourself needing an IDFPR attorney.

Nurse, Bloomington

August 2019

I was recently the subject of an IDFPR investigation that could have led to serious consequences to my career and reputation. I am a Licensed Certified Public Accountant and I was being accused of something that I did not do. The IDFPR initiated an investigation to which I responded without legal counsel as I knew I had done nothing wrong. Bad move. A few months later IDFPR sent me a notice alleging I had violated the Illinois Public Accounting Act. After a few sleepless nights I knew that I needed someone experienced to help me. I met with a few different attorneys but none made me feel that they would fight for me the way Williams and Nickl did. From day one I felt they were on my side and would do everything in their power to get me a good outcome. I was correct as the entire case against me was dismissed. Williams and Nickl are true client advocates and will fight for you. Thank you guys for helping me!!!

CPA, Chicago

August 2019

My Temporary Medical Permit application was tied up for 4 months due to a DUI that occurred 12 years ago. After calling every day for weeks and being given the run around, I learned the file was sitting waiting to be assigned a prosecutor! With one week until my residency program was going to terminate my contract and at my absolute wits end, I hired Williams and Nickl. My license was issued and in my hands in 24 hours! Worth every penny.. I'm very grateful!

Resident Physician, Springfield

July 2019

These guys are great! I am a new graduate nurse. I took my boards in January and was able to find a job immediately at a local hospital. On my first day at my new job I received a letter from the IDFPR saying my temporary license was not valid because of deficiencies on my license application. The deficiencies were from charges that occurred when I was kn high school over 16 years ago. I contacted Fred Nickl after I found his website on google. He was able to get my license issued within a week of hiring him. Even my nurse manager was shocked on how quickly the license was issued. I would highly recommend them!

RN, Chicago

March 2019

I was fortunate to have been referred to Williams & Nickl from another law firm out of state. I was faced with a notice of intent to deny medical licensure from the IDFPR. I considered entering the hearing without representation but was encouraged to have a consultation with Williams & Nickl, and I am grateful I did. It was clear from my first conversation with Fred Nickl that he was experienced and very knowledgeable about the IDFPR. He presented just the facts, he was never pushy to sell his services, and all correspondence was in a very timely manner. Because I was traveling from out of state for my hearing, Fred Nickl arranged for a preparatory meeting the same day to reduce my travel time. I felt very equipped to answer difficult questions that I would not have anticipated, had I not had the preparation with Fred Nickl. There were no surprises and we obtained a successful outcome. I would highly recommend Williams and Nickl to anyone facing similar challenges with licensure.

Surgeon, Wisconsin

December 2018

Fred was instrumental in helping me out on a situation that occurred with the Illinois Board. The board was needlessly going to reprimand me for a minor incident which had nothing to do with obtaining a license. I thought this was inappropriate and therefore sought legal advice from Fred. With one letter Fred was able to resolve the situation and no reprimand was posted. The troubles did not end there, someone from the board decided to contact the Michigan Board of Medicine. And incorrectly reported to them that I had a listing in the database. This was also corrected with one letter from Fred. I would highly recommend his services for any issues dealing with the Board of Medicine of Illinois.

Physician, Illinois

December 2018

We would highly recommend Fred Nickl and Edward Williams as lawyers when searching for representation to protect a professional license. They helped us throughout the entire process, and were both knowledgeable and professional. Their expertise is exactly what we were looking for in representing us against IDFPR.

In meeting with these lawyers we could immediately tell that they were extremely knowledgeable and had many years of experience to back it up. They knew exactly how to proceed in responding to the State and were straight forward in terms of what to expect from that point on.

Fred and Edward were always professional in addressing any questions that I emailed to them. They always responded in a very timely manner. They kept us informed and updated whenever they corresponded with the State regarding our case.

We are truly grateful for their knowledge and expertise, and for helping to protect our professional license. They definitely know what they are doing and will assist every step of the way!

Diana Pittro, RMK Management, Chicago

November 2018

I was compelled to write this review since my experiences with Fred and Edward have been nothing but positive. As a veterinarian, they helped me through one of the most difficult challenges in my life.

I chose them due to their decades of experience and knowledge in many fields, including veterinary medicine. It is not an easy task finding experienced attorneys with so much insight regarding not only the IDFPR, but also criminal laws and federal/state policies. Fred always knew exactly where to direct me and even referred me to some wonderful individuals at other legal practices when issues arose outside of his realm.

Both Fred and Edward were always readily available via e-mail or telephone. Fred consistently responded to my questions, concerns, and any other issues regarding my case, typically within minutes. I will be forever grateful for their loyalty, honesty, and dedication, but most of all, for saving my career and allowing me to continue doing what I love every day. There are truly no words to express my gratitude.

Tiffany Leach, Veterinarian, Chicago

November 2018

I own and operate a Private Alarm Contractor Agency in the Chicago Area and have been dealing with Edward and Fred for nearly a decade. If you own a security company in Illinois they are a must know law firm that is truly second to nobody when dealing with the IDFPR.

Alarm Contractor, Chicagoland

November 2018

We were falsely accused of operating without PERC cards and chose Williams & Nickl to defend us before IDFPR. We chose Williams & Nickl because we took their course on obtaining a Security Agency license and throughout the course both Edward and Fred were extremely knowledgeable about the Illinois laws and statutes for the security industry. When IDFPR filed charges, Williams & Nickl were our only choice. Fred took our case to the Board and got them to completely drop the complaint—best possible result.

Security Contractor, Illinois

November 2018

I can't begin to express my gratitude for Williams & Nickl's diligence, representation, and advocacy in my case. I appreciate the timely and hard work they did. Within days of their letters and calls to IDFPR, I was issued an active nursing license. I truly believe this would not have been possible without their help. Thank you so much for representing me – I appreciate everything.

RN Applicant, Chicago

October 2018

I would highly recommend Fred Nickl and Edward Williams as lawyers when searching for representation to protect a professional license. They helped me throughout the entire process, and were both knowledgeable and professional. Their expertise resulted in a positive outcome, and protection for the pharmacist license that I have worked so hard to earn. Here is some background on my situation and why Fred and Edward are superb at their jobs.

I received a letter from the State's Department of Professional Regulation Division titled “Notice of Preliminary Hearing.” The letter contained details regarding the dispensing of a controlled substance. This definitely took me by surprise as the complaint involved the dispensing of a Norco prescription that happened some 4 years prior. After searching the internet for information about how to handle the letter and required response to the State, I came across the Williams and Nickl website.

I reached out to their office via email and was grateful to receive a response right away. I was able to schedule an appointment with Fred and Edward within a few days of receiving the letter. I definitely wanted to share my side of the story regarding the incident, and also figure out how to respond to the State's letter.

In meeting with these lawyers I could immediately tell that they were extremely knowledgeable and had many years of experience to back it up. They knew exactly how to proceed in responding to the State and were straight forward in terms of what to expect from that point on. I left that meeting feeling a lot less anxious about the entire situation.

Fred was really professional in addressing any questions that I emailed to him. He always responded in a very timely manner. He kept me informed and updated whenever he corresponded with the State regarding my case.

When it came time for my Preliminary Hearing, Edward let me know exactly what to expect. I felt well prepared to discuss the situation surrounding the dispensing of the controlled substance and to handle any questions that arose. Edward gave great advice and guidance on how to best present myself during the Hearing.

I am truly grateful for their knowledge and expertise, and for helping me protect my professional license. They definitely know what they are doing, and will assist every step of the way!

Pharmacist, Chicago

September 2018

My husband and I sought representation when he ran into a licensing issue as an out-of-state tele-radiologist whose company was obtaining contracts in Illinois. Fred and Edward immediately understood the gravity of our situation and the ramifications that a licensing action could have for a physician with dozens of state licenses. As an attorney myself, I can vouch for the fact that some lawyers collect fees for simply acting as facilitators for a system in which they operate, and some are the tireless advocates for their clients that we are all supposed to be. Fred and Edward are truly the definition of tireless advocates, they worked every angle on our case and we got the best result possible in a timely and cost-efficient manner. We could not have asked for more.

Radiologist, Seattle

August 2018

I needed the assistance of an attorney when appealing a state license matter, and initially worked with another Chicago firm. Feeling frustrated and unsupported, I was later referred to the Williams & Nickl, LLC firm. The difference was night and day! I worked directly with both Ed Williams and Fred Nickl. They were very professional and responsive to any emails or phone calls. They researched the matter fully, asked the right questions, and fought for my rights as a physician. Additionally, they were fair and reasonable with their billing practices. Overall, they were very supportive and hands–on throughout the entire matter. Though nobody ever wants to “need” an attorney, after working with this team, I wouldn't call anybody else.

Surgeon, Chicago

August 2018

In the beginning of 2018, I was proud to begin my nursing career. I had just graduated from nursing school with honors and was hired at a prestigious hospital. But instead of receiving my license in the mail, IDFPR wanted me to explain my arrest for cannabis and paraphernalia back in 2010, and it was clear the Department was not happy. Not only was I afraid my chances of becoming an RN were in jeopardy, I was certain I would miss my job opportunity. Having worked so hard to become a nurse, I knew I needed professional representation. After looking extensively online and reaching out to attorneys, I chose Edward Williams and Fred Nickl because of Mr. Williams' history of prosecuting DPR cases, and their extensive experience handling cases like mine. After talking with them, I knew they were the best lawyers for the job and would achieve the best outcome as quickly as possible. I made the right choice. The issue was resolved quickly, and completely in my favor. I was even able to start my new job! I was particularly impressed with the quality of the IDFPR response letter that we drafted together. First, I sent my best attempt at a rough draft to Mr. Nickl. His rewrites that he sent back just blew me away. I could never have presented my case as thoroughly and professionally on my own. I highly recommend representation from Williams & Nickl, LLC.

Registered Nurse, Chicago

July 2018

I looked for a lawyer because the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation told me to get a lawyer for the “Notice of Intent to deny” medical licensure that DPR sent me. I chose my first attorney, but quickly realized that he wasn't making any progress with my case and didn't know how to go about representing me. Mr. Williams, on the other hand, called me back right away after I reached out to his firm. From that first phone call, I felt that he was straight forward and very experienced. Plus, he had worked for DPR, so I knew that he had in-depth knowledge. This helped me trust his judgement because I knew he was conveying to me what IDFPR was thinking and their next steps.

I felt that I was helped tremendously. With the help of Williams and Nickl, I was able to obtain an Informal Conference with the Department. This was something I was not able to obtain with my previous attorney. Throughout the whole legal process, I was updated periodically and informed. This helped me make decisions faster and with more confidence. Williams and Nickl has a very strong understanding of the rules and regulations of the IDFPR and the National Practitioner Databank (NPDB). I am very impressed by their knowledge of what can and cannot be reported to the NPDB. This is what separates the firm of Williams and Nickl from the rest!

Get an initial free consultation with this firm because they will tell you your chances in succeeding. They are very transparent. I feel that the firm of Williams and Nickl has an established a strong reputation and is well-known to the IDFPR. The IDFPR is very aware of Williams and Nickl and knows how difficult it will be to go against these lawyers because of their established track record of success.

Physician, Illinois

July 2018

Back to Top